The true meaning of decadence

4 thoughts on “The true meaning of decadence”

  1. Simone, you’ve hit it right on the head and have piqued my interest in “May Day”. All too often, people imagine decadence as champagne when, in fact, it’s the champagne, the broken glasses, and the roaring headache—we’ve all been there.

    A question: I know the “melancholy of people who have lost their way” exists today, but how are contemporary people coping? Does Fitzgerald provide a solution (I’ll be reading closely) or is there no hope?

    Society needs direction or plastic champagne flutes and no-hangover champagne.

    I look forward to reading more from “213 in 2013”!

    1. Why, Jeffrey, what a pleasure to see you on the blogosphere! Thanks for stopping by and for such a thorough read. I’m glad the review resonated with you.

      As for your question – no, I think you’ll find that Fitzgerald takes rather a bleak view of the situation. Of course, he published this in 1920, so the post WWI-era was all too contemporary for him. I think the ways in which we are melancholy and lost today differ vastly from the desperate melancholy of a society reeling from the realization that global war and viciously destructive weapons can, and have, decimated the lives they used to know.

      I have a few more 213 in 2013 posts in the queue – in the meantime, you can always click the tag to see the backlog! I also did a 212 in 2012 series. All my reviews are listed on the “Playing Critic” page; the link is up in the blog header.

      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

